Aroha Ensemble

8th June 2017

Masterworks for String Trio

Beethoven - String Trio No 3 in G major Op. 9 No 1
Sibelius - String Trio in G minor JS210
Mozart - Divertimento for String Trio in E-flat major K563
Three members of the well-known Aroha Quartet perform rarely heard masterworks for string trio under the name Aroha Ensemble.

Mozart's Divertimento for String Trio, written in the same year as his last three symphonies, has been described as one of his noblest works.
Beethoven's Opus 9 String Trios were a significant milestone in his development as a composer. His G major trio is rich, energetic, and almost symphonic.
The fascinating third work in the programme is a movement from an unfinished trio from Sibelius's mature chamber music period.


The three members of the Aroha Ensemble are Haihong Liu (violin), Zhongxian Jin (cello) and Robert Ibell (cello). Haihong and Robert are both members of the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra. Zhongxian is a freelance violist and teacher.


No reviews currently available.

Show Times

Click here for updated showing times and booking details

Ticket Prices

$25.00 Adults

$50.00 Family (2 adults 2 children)

$15.00 Senior - Community Service Card

$10.00 - Students under 18


Book Your Tickets Now

Click here to see what's on and book your tickets for the latest show

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required